New CD from Seeds Family Worship "The Word of God"

Print Friendly and PDF

"The Word of God" Seeds Family Worship CD vol 8 Last week I received a copy of the new CD from Seeds Family Worship. From the first listen, I was impressed.
This is the 8th volume of their scripture based praise music for children & families. All the songs in this edition relate to the theme of God’s Word. Here’s a track listing.

  1. The Word of God (Hebrews 4:12)
  2. Your Life is Hidden (Colossians 3:2-3)
  3. Impress Them (Deuteronomy 6:4-7 )
  4. Jesus Christ is Lord (Philippians 2:9-11)
  5. Breathed Out (II Timothy 3:16-17)
  6. Your Word in My Heart (Psalm 119:9-11)
  7. Do What It Says (James 1:22)
  8. Genuine (Romans 12:9-10)
  9. Act Like Men (I Corinthians 16:13-14)
  10. A Woman Who Fears The Lord (Proverbs 31:30)
  11. Your Life is Hidden (Colossians 3:2-3)
  12. H.E.R.O. (Philippians 2:9-11)

The real test for me was playing the CD in the van with my own kids. Right now our oldest is 17 and youngest only 2. Between them are various musical tastes, lately we’ve listened to mostly Lecrae, Toby Mac, and Jamie Grace. When I get to choose (not often) it’s been BélO (because I’m learning Creole).
So what did my family think? They  think Seeds is musically on the same level as anything we’ve heard on the Air1 or K-Love. I like the modern rock sound, especially on the title track (see video below). The only drawback was repetition. Because this music is excellent for Bible memory, it’s also very limited on lyrics. After a few times listening, we just wanted some variety. Even so, the scripture verses stuck and that seems like the point.
For children’s church, we’ll be using “The Word of God” song based on Hebrews 4:12. You can play it directly from YouTube.
If you’re just learning about Seeds Family Worship, be sure to read Wayne’s review on our website. I even recorded an interview with one of the group’s leaders. We’ve also posted a few of their Bible verses songs before –  Psalm 55:22, Philippians 4:6-7, 1 Timothy 4:12.